- Our Caregivers
- Employment Opportunities
- Contact Us
We are proud to announce that we’ve been awarded the 2019 Best of Henderson Senior Care Award! See what they’ve had to say:
This wouldn’t be possible without our extraordinary clients and remarkable caregivers. As we’ve mentioned in the past and what we will continue to say in the future is that we treat your family, like our family!
Legacy Home Care thrives to provide the finest In-Home Care service within the Las Vegas and Henderson Community. Thanks again to the Grandfolk organization for honoring our company and staff with this award!
Elder Abuse: A term referring to any knowing, intentional, or negligent act by a caregiver or any other person that causes harm or a serious risk of harm to an older person (someone being 60 years of age or older).– State of Nevada Aging and Disability Services Division –
Majority of us do have a friend or even a family member that is an elder who we love and care about. Did you know that it is possible for them to be abused? Whether the abuse is self inflicted or from someone else, the possibilities are can feel endless.
The types of abuse that can be reported are Physical Abuse (including medication and sexual abuse), Mental Abuse, Neglect, Self-Neglect, Exploitation, and Isolation.
While abuse can be show physically, neglect and self neglect are rather common when it comes to elder abuse. Some common factors of neglect include not providing the elderly food, clothing, shelter, or services for medical or personal hygiene care.
Another common abuse that may be difficult to detect is self-neglect. This is when the elderly isn’t able to provide for his/her own needs because of an inability to do so (mentally or physically). This is why it’s important to be sure to speak with your loved ones (or watch carefully) to make sure they are taking care of themselves appropriately.
Self-neglect isn’t considered a crime in the state of Nevada. However, a judge may declare that the individual is incompetent to make his/her own choices if reported and shortly after, investigated.
If there is an elder being abused by someone else, it’s punishable by law up to 1 year of jail time and/or a fine of $1,000.
If you or someone you know is being abused, please contact the Aging Disability Services Division – The Elder Rights Intake Unit at (702) 486-6930 OR you can reach the Statewide Office number at (888) 729-0571.
What a perfect way to end the week by congratulating yet another phenomenal employee here at Legacy Home Care!
Kathleen Hartman was awarded Caregiver of the Month for being a team player. She stepped up to the plate, with no hesitation, when her coworker needed to be relieved from work for a couple of weeks.
We appreciate all that you do Kathleen! Especially when you go above and beyond for not just your clients, but your fellow coworkers!